Yes — if you don't want to use the membership features in Ghost and don't want to ask visitors to subscribe, sign up or sign in, you can quickly disable this feature from the settings in Ghost Admin.

Head to Settings Membership and change the subscription access level to Nobody. This will disable Portal and prevent any visitors from being able to subscribe or sign in to your site.