There are four types of staff users that you can invite to your publication. Here's a full breakdown of the permissions each role has:

Administrator Editor Author Contributor
Overall User Interface
view ‘Settings’ in admin menu ✔ ✔    
view ‘Your Profile’ in user menu ✔ ✔ ✔  ✔
edit ‘Your Profile’ in user menu ✔ ✔ ✔  ✔
view Analtyics ✔ ✔    
Settings
view general site settings ✔      
edit general site settings ✔      
view users settings ✔ ✔    
view ‘History’ in admin menu ✔      
Users
invite users ✔ A*    
revoke invites to users ✔ A*    
view other users ✔ A*    
edit other users ✔ A*    
delete other users ✔ A*    
browse ✔ ✔    
add admin ✔      
add editor ✔      
add author ✔ ✔    
add contributor ✔ ✔    
Roles
assign ✔ ✔ (role = author)   
view ✔ ✔ ✔  
browse ✔ ✔ ✔  
Tags
edit tags ✔ ✔    
add tags ✔ ✔ ✔  
delete tags ✔ ✔    
Content List
browse all posts ✔ ✔    
browse own posts ✔ ✔ ✔   
Posts
create new posts ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔
publish posts ✔ ✔ ✔  
edit own posts ✔ ✔ ✔  
edit other’s posts ✔ ✔    
delete own posts ✔ ✔ ✔  
delete other’s posts ✔ ✔    
Pages
create new pages ✔ ✔    
publish pages ✔ ✔    
edit own pages ✔ ✔    
edit other’s pages ✔ ✔    
delete own pages ✔ ✔    
delete other’s pages ✔ ✔    
Slugs
generate ✔ ✔ ✔  
Database
import content ✔      
export content ✔      
delete all content ✔      
browse ✔      
add ✔      
delete ✔      
Members
import members ✔      
export members ✔      
delete members ✔      
view members ✔      
Mail
Send ✔      
Send test mail ✔      
Key
✔ – Yes
A* – Authors only

Delete a staff user

To delete a staff user, click on the gear icon from the user’s profile in the Staff dashboard and select Delete User.

⚠️
Deleting a user is irreversible and will attribute all content authored by the deleted staff user to the owner user of the publication.

Suspend a staff user

It's possible to suspend a staff user, so they are unable to login to your Ghost Admin area. Suspended staff users retain their user profile and content attribution.

To suspend a user, click on the gear icon from the user’s profile in the Staff dashboard and select Suspend User.

Transfer ownership

There is only ever one owner user of a Ghost site which cannot be deleted. The owner user has all of the same permissions as the admin with some exceptions, for example, access to billing details if using Ghost(Pro).

There can only be one owner and this user cannot be deleted, but owners are able to transfer their ownership to another user. This can be done from the Settings → Staff area in Ghost Admin. Click on an Administrator staff user's profile and select the Make owner option from the gear icon in the top right-hand corner.

Changing password

To change the password tied to a staff user account, you’ll need to first enter the old password, as well as configure a new one. Once saved, the new password will be required when logging into Ghost Admin.